Exhibition Schedule

"between silences" by Loriann Signori
Dec. 6 - 30, 2017

Gallery Hours: Wednesday - Saturday, 12 - 6pm
Opening Reception: Friday, Dec. 8, 6-8pm
Artist Demonstration: Saturday, Dec. 16, 3-5pm
Special Holiday Hours: Sunday, Dec. 17, 10am-12pm

This series of paintings on display demonstrate Signori’s deep understanding of the landscape through the use of color vibration. Her style is more interpretive than representational and allows the viewer to focus on the profound beauty of the landscape seen each day. Signori’s painted surfaces are covered with rich reds, burnt siennas, oranges, jewel-like blues and beautiful neutrals. Multiple glazes of pigment of varying opacity can make the picture’s surface feel flat, yet in the next moment it quivers. Her work, often times on copper, gold leaf or marble dust, show luminescent skies, water and deep probing fogs.

Referring to “between silences,” Signori says, “My work is certainly inspired by the landscape—the places I see, know and love—but at its core my art is really about what happens in the gap, in the space between the silences. The familiarity of the landscapes I choose allows me to stretch into the abyss and tolerate the confusion and silence. From there I take liberties even as I strive for simplicity. My work relies on color vibration to suggest simply. In the end, its job is to appeal to the senses on a visceral level.” 

Loriann Signori is based in the Washington, D.C. area and received her Master of Fine Arts in painting from American University and her Bachelor of Fine Arts from Swain School of Design. Signori is represented by Merritt Gallery, Renaissance Fine Arts and the Waverly Street Gallery.  View more of Loriann's work.

"Points of View" by Sara Becker, Nancy Butler, Helen Gallagher, Caroline Orrick, Maureen Ward, Ann Rossilli, Penny Smith
Jan. 10 - Feb. 3, 2018

Gallery Hours: Wednesday - Saturday, 11am-5pm
Opening Reception: Friday, Jan. 12, 6-8pm
Design Seminar: Sunday, Jan. 21, 1-3pm

"US FOUR" by Katty Biglari, Nora Maccoby, Grazia Montalto, Yolaine Rilhac
Feb. 7 - March 3, 2018

Gallery Hours: Wednesday - Saturday, 12-6pm
Opening Reception: Friday, Feb. 9, 6-8pm