The Trawick Prize


The Trawick Prize: Bethesda Contemporary Art Awards is a visual art prize produced by the Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District that honors artists from Maryland, Washington, D.C. and Virginia. The annual juried competition awards $14,000 in prize monies to selected artists and features the work of the finalists in a group exhibition.

Pictured from left to right; Catherine Leggett; Councilmember Sidney Katz; Lauren Adams. 2016 Best in Show winner; Carol Trawick, founder; Elaine Joost, Bethesda Urban Partnership Chair; Catriona Fraser, The Trawick Prize Chair


  2017 Finalists

Cindy Cheng, Baltimore, MD

Larry Cook, Landover Hills, MD

Amy Finkelstein, Takoma Park, MD

Helen Glazer, Owings Mills, MD

Giulia Livi, Baltimore, MD

Michele Montalbano, Burke, VA

Ben Piwowar, Baltimore, MD

Renée Rendine, Towson, MD