2024 Schedule

Poetry Reading Featuring this Year's Poetry Winners & Professional Poets
Thursday, March 14 at 7pm
Location:  The Writer's Center, 4508 Walsh Street

Essay & Short Story Reading Featuring this Year's Winners (Check back for full list)eventlws
Friday, March 15 at 7pm
Location: Bethesda Hyatt, 7400 Wisconsin Avenue

The 2024 Poetry Reading and Awards Ceremony  will feature readings by poets Regie Cabico and Courtney LeBlanc.


FeeRegie Cabico is a spoken word pioneer having won The Nuyorican Poets Cafe Grand Slam. Mr. Cabico was a featured poet at the 2022 Whitney Biennial and received the 2006 Writers for Writers Award from Poets & Writers. He is a teaching artist at the Kennedy Center for the Arts. He received three New York Innovative Theater Award Nominations for his work in Too Much Light Makes the Baby Go Blind. His children’s show, Mangos to Apples Tumbling Tumbling From a Filipino Rainbow, premiered at the National Theater in Washington, DC. He is the author of A Rabbit in Search of a Rolex.




FeeCourtney LeBlanc is the author of the full-length collections Her Whole Bright Life, for which she won the Jack McCarthy Book Prize; Exquisite Bloody, Beating Heart; and Beautiful & Full of Monsters. She is the Arlington County Poet Laureate, a 2022 Virginia Center for the Creative Arts fellow, and the founder and editor-in-chief of Riot in Your Throat, an independent poetry press. She loves nail polish, tattoos, and a soy latte each morning. Find her online at www.courtneyleblanc.com.