Bernard Ebb Songwriting Awards Founder

Cathy Bernard & Fred Ebb Founders of Bernard Ebb Songwriting Awards Cathy Bernard is the President of HCM Corporation, a real estate management and investment firm. She serves on the Board of Directors at Signature Theatre, Round House Theatre, Imagination Stage and Strathmore. She is also the President of the Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District Board of Directors. Bernard has been named to the Top 100 Women in Maryland in 2006, 2008 and 2010. She was also named to the Top 25 Women in Business in Montgomery County in 2008, and received the County Executive Volunteer Award in 2004.

The Bernard Family Foundation provides grants to organizations in the arts, education and cancer advocacy programs. Bernard is the niece of Fred Ebb and lives in Bethesda, MD with her two children.

Fred Ebb began his career in songwriting in 1953 when he was asked by Columbia Records to write a song for Judy Garland.

In 1966, Ebb and partner John Kander’s collaboration Cabaret, opened and received seven Tony Awards including Best Musical and Best Score. In 1972, the songwriting team wrote a number of songs for Minnelli's television special Liza With a Z, which received an Emmy Award for Outstanding Single Program - Variety or Popular Music. In 1975, the two wrote the Broadway musical Chicago, directed by Bob Fosse and starring Gwen Verdon, Chita Rivera and Jerry Orbach. Their other musicals include The Happy Time, Zorba, The Act, Woman of the Year, Kiss of the Spider Woman, among others. Ebb has also worked with Shirley MacLaine, Lauren Bacall and Mikhail Baryshnikov.

In addition to their significant Broadway contributions Ebb and Kander also collaborated with Martin Scorcese on the movie, New York, New York for which they wrote the iconic theme song by the same name. The song, first introduced by Liza Minnelli in the movie, was later recorded by Frank Sinatra and became an American classic.

Ebb was a Tony, Grammy, Emmy, Olivier and Kennedy Center Honors Lifetime Achievement Award winning recipient. He passed away in September 2004.