The Trawick Prize - 10th Anniversary

Carol Trawick, founder of The Trawick Prize, has established The Trawick Prize “best of the best” Sapphire Award to mark the contemporary art competition’s 10th anniversary and honor the Best in Show winners from the past 10 years. In conjunction with the Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District and the Bethesda Urban Partnership, Trawick will hold a special “best of the best” competition and exhibition, featuring artwork by winners from 2003 – 2012.

A jury comprising the 30 jurors from the past 10 years will determine one “Best of the Best” Sapphire Award winner, who will also receive $10,000. In addition, the public will be able to view the artwork online and vote for a “People’s Choice” award winner, who will receive $1,000.

Congratulations to the winners of The Trawick Prize Sapphire Award!
"Best of the Best" Sapphire Award, $10,000 - Jo Smail, Baltimore, MD
People's Choice Award, $1,000 - Mia Feuer, Washington, D.C.

Exhibition Information
Artwork by each of the 10 Best in Show winners will be on display in a group exhibition taking place November 3 - December 1, 2012 at Gallery B, located at 7700 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite E. The award winners will be announced Friday, November 2, 2012.


Past Trawick Prize Winners

    2003: Richard Cleaver
    2004: David Page
    2005: Jiha Moon
    2006: James Rieck
    2007: Jo Smail
    2008: Maggie Michael
    2009: Rene Trevino
    2011: Mia Feuer
    2012: Lillian Bayley Hoover





The Trawick Prize "Best of the Best" winner Jo Smail receives her award.





The public opening reception will be held Friday, November 9 from 6-9pm in conjunction with the Bethesda Art Walk. Gallery hours for the duration of the exhibit are Wednesday through Saturday, 12 – 6pm.